Highlights from the American Gem Society's 2024 Conclave Awards

The American Gem Society's 2024 Conclave in Austin, TX, was a beacon of recognition, honouring remarkable achievements and dedication within its community
Highlights from the American Gem Society's 2024 Conclave Awards

The 2024 Conclave commemorated exceptional contributions and commitment within the American Gem Society community with a series of prestigious awards.

During the Tuesday breakfast general session, Amanda Coleman-Phelps, CGA, Chair of the International Guilds Council, bestowed the first of three accolades, the Sallie Morton Award. This year, Jewelers Mutual Group was honoured with the award for their steadfast partnership and significant backing of AGS since 2008. Coleman-Phelps remarked, "Jewelers Mutual Group epitomizes unwavering support to AGS and its members. As Guilds sponsor, they have played a crucial role in advocating for ongoing member education, often facilitating essential classes on topics such as business security."

Coleman-Phelps then presented the Guild of the Year Award to Andy Martin, CEO of Wishfluence and President of the Northwest Arkansas Guild, lauding Martin's innovative and community-centric approach within the industry, noting, "Andy embodies innovation and community engagement within the jewellery sector."

Additionally, Coleman-Phelps was awarded the John J. Kennedy Award, recognizing outstanding service and support to the jewellery industry by law enforcement personnel. This year, Supervisory Special Agent Jeffrey Rolands was honored for his significant contributions to enhancing industry safety and supporting AGS members.

At the annual Titleholders Luncheon on April 17, Kevin Mays, CGA, of John Mays Jewelers, received the Young Titleholder of the Year Award. Maria Brown, RJ, former Chair of the Young Titleholders committee, presented Mays with the award, commending him for his exemplary work with the committee, stating, "Kevin is dedicated, visionary, and inspiring."

The Black in Jewelry Coalition (BIJC), in collaboration with the Young Titleholders Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee, granted a Conclave registration scholarship to one BIJC member. Ms. Brown announced Valerie Madison as the recipient of this scholarship.

Brown also acknowledged the Young Titleholders Conclave Scholarship recipients, who were awarded Conclave registrations.

This year, the scholarships were granted to:

Daniel Abdallah, Maya Caroleena Jewelers

Lisa Bradshaw, John J. Bradshaw

Kimberly Ngarupe, Duke's Jewelers

Leslie Rollins, Zachary's Jewelers

David Rubenstein, Betz Jewelers

Torre Spellman, Skeie's Jewelers

Tiana Yamaguchi, Vardy's Jewelers

The American Gem Society takes pride in recognizing the accomplishments and dedication of all Conclave honorees, who continuously strive for excellence and innovation within the jewellery industry.

Diamond World