GIA Adds “Peacock” Colour Range Comment to All Pearl Reports

Protecting consumers and meeting trade needs
GIA is adding a report comment employing the trade color term “Peacock.”
GIA is adding a report comment employing the trade color term “Peacock.”

GIA (Gemological Institute of America) is adding a report comment employing the trade colour term “Peacock” for designated colours of cultured pearls from the Pinctada margaritifera black-lipped pearl oyster, commonly known as Tahitian pearls.

GIA’s industry analysis yielded the identification of the colour range that was commonly agreed upon within the pearl trade as “peacock.” The general description of that colour range is: a body colour with a hue that contains green, of mid-to-strong saturation and mid-to-dark tone, and with moderate or stronger overtone (usually pink, but may be other hues) or orient.

When a pearl, strand or jewellery item meets the carefully defined colour parameters for ‘Peacock,’ a comment that states: This pearl is often referred to as a “Tahitian” cultured pearl in the trade, and it falls into the select colour range that is known as “peacock” (or a variation thereof) will be added to any GIA pearl report.

“This change comes about after a year of researching the historical and current use of the colour term ‘Peacock,’ as well as considered industry feedback,” said Tom Moses, executive vice president and chief laboratory and research officer. “Based on our industry findings and GIA’s mission to educate consumers to make informed purchasing decisions, adding this descriptive trade-term to report better serves consumers.”

There will be no additional fee for this change. To learn more about GIA’s pearl reports and services, visit

Although GIA is best known for creating the 4Cs and the GIA International Diamond Grading System™, it has been a leader in the identification and classification of natural and cultured pearls since 1949. GIA has contributed to revising the U.S. Federal Trade Commission’s pearl guidelines for the jewellery industry and is responsible for working with major pearl companies globally to develop comprehensive standards for describing pearls. These standards are the GIA 7 Pearl Value Factors™: Size, Shape, Colour, Nacre, Luster, Surface and Matching.

Follow DiamondWorld on Instagram: @diamondworldnet
Follow DiamondWorld on Twitter: @diamondworldnet
Follow DiamondWorld on Facebook: @diamondworldnet

Diamond World