Eight titleholders receive The Fellow Award

The Award is instituted in recognition of noteworthy contribution to the jewellery industry
Eight titleholders receive The Fellow Award

Eight American Gem Society titleholders were awarded with The Fellow Award, at the American Gem Society™ International Conclave 2008, on April 10, 2008. The award is a recognition for those individuals who have made noteworthy contributions and services to the jewellery industry, the American Gem Society™, and the recipient’s community in the areas of gemology, education, administration, philanthropy, community service, and service to the profession. “Fellow Award recipients are individuals who have demonstrated a commitment to high ideals and purpose,” said Ruth Batson, Executive Director and CEO of the American Gem Society.

The eight AGS titleholders were; Serge Boro, Vintage Registered Supplier, formerly of Lazare Kaplan; Marcelia Cruz-Hicks, Certified Gemologist, Diaco Diamonds, Inc.; Susan Jaime, Registered Jeweler, Ben Bridge Jeweler; Gary J. Long, Registered Jeweler, Gary J. Long Jewelers; Gene Spratford, Registered Jeweler, Spratford Fine Jewelry; Rick Velayo, Certified Gemologist Appraiser, Gleim the Jeweler; Harton Wolf, Certified Gemologist Appraiser, Henne Jewelers; and Cos Altobelli, Certified Gemologist Appraiser, The Altobelli Jewelers.

The Fellow Award recognises a group of Society members, rather than an individual as does the Robert M. Shipley Award. The Fellows Committee is in charge of reviewing the nominations and the supporting materials for the Fellow Award. T. Only the AGS members can be nominated for the award. In addition to the Fellow Award, a Senior Fellow is bestowed on all former Fellow Award winners following their seventieth birthday. The Senior Fellow designation is a lifelong designation also awarded annually at International Conclave.

Follow DiamondWorld on Instagram: @diamondworldnet
Follow DiamondWorld on Twitter: @diamondworldnet
Follow DiamondWorld on Facebook: @diamondworldnet

Diamond World