27 Mar 2023
DiamondWorld Directory
Home |
AGS honours six individuals with distinction
Three journalists were handed the Richard T. Liddicoat™ Journalism Awards
By: Diamond World News Service
Aug 8 2008 3:05PM
Reference: 2919  


The American Gem Society recently honoured the work of six professionals in the world, as having made an exceptional contribution to the gem and jewellery trade. Three sets of awards were to be handed over - the Richard T. Liddicoat™ Journalism Awards, American Gem Society’s Lifetime Achievement Award and the Triple Zero Awards, at the American Gem Society’s Ninth Annual Circle of Distinction Dinner, held July 29 at New York City’s storied Rainbow Room in Rockefeller Plaza.

Ruth Batson, executive director and CEO of the American Gem Society, presented three journalists- Jennifer Heebner, Carrie Soucy, and Russell Shor with the Richard T. Liddicoat™ Journalism Awards. Industry/Trade Reporting Category was won by: Jennifer Heebner and Carrie Soucy, for “Seal of Disapproval,” JCK Luxury Magazine, while the Trade Journal Category was won by Russell Shor, for his work “From Single Source to Global Free Market: the Transformation of the Cultured Pearl Industry,” in Gems & Gemology.

The event celebrated the sixth anniversary of the Liddicoat Awards, founded by the American Gem Society in memory of Richard T. Liddicoat, “The Father of Modern Gemology” and longtime president of the Gemological Institute of America.

“Tonight, we are celebrating the service of six extraordinary individuals. They each walk different paths in this diverse industry, but every one of them works diligently and ardently to make their own contribution,” said Society President Mark Moeller.

Moeller presented the Society’s Triple Zero Awards, to Circle of Distinction inductees Hugh Glenn and Anna Martin. The award recognises “members of the industry who have demonstrated the highest level of leadership and involvement”.

Patti Geolat, interim president, CEO, and chairman of the board for Jewelers Mutual Insurance Company, gave away the American Gem Society’s Lifetime Achievement Award to Circle of Distinction inductee John J. Kennedy, president of the Jewelers’ Security Alliance.

After the high drama of the awards, the event unwound with an element of entertainment with a ballroom dance floor and a classic music in the backdrop- Hank Lane Orchestra and Rainbow Room.

Follow DiamondWorld on Instagram: @diamondworldnet
Follow DiamondWorld on Twitter: @diamondworldnet
Follow DiamondWorld on Facebook: @diamondworldnet
Have Your Say
* Your view
* Name:
* Email:
* Town/city:
* Country/State:
*  Company:
*  Name:
*  Mobile:
*  Email:
Subscribe for DiamondWorld weekly Newsletter
Search News by City
Recent Issue
News in Pictures
Young Diamantaires
Pictures: 16
Stunning Jewellery from Cannes 2019
Pictures: 24
Sparkly Jewels at Oscars 2019
Pictures: 19
Golden Globes 2018
Pictures: 15
Spotted: Who Wore What (December 2018)
Pictures: 4
India Diamond Week
Pictures: 8
Spotted: Who Wore What (October 2018)
Pictures: 7
Spotted: Who Wore What (September 2018)
Pictures: 6
70th Emmy Awards
Pictures: 11
35th India International Jewellery Show 2018
Pictures: 46
JJS - IJ Jewellers Choice Design Awards 2015 powered by GIA
Views: 33121
Diamond World Expert Hour with Evgeny Agureev, Deputy CEO, ALROSA
Views: 10747
GJEPC Chairman Interview
Views: 29176
IJ Jewellers Choice Design Awards 2012 - Part 1
Views: 40574
Promo for IJ Awards 2012 at NDTV Profit
Views: 58158
IJ Jewellers Choice Design Awards 2012- Part 2
Views: 69839
Couture India 2016 - A Business Boutique Show by IJ Magazine
Views: 22482
Savjibhai Dholakiya, Surat Businessman (Diamond Merchant) speaks in Vibrant 2015
Views: 51738
IJ Jewellers Choice Design Awards 2013 - NDTV Video
Views: 54317
Member of:
Supporter of: